• longlist1
  • longlist2
  • longlist3

NEW: The 2015 Shortlist

Wondering what to read next? Pick up one of the MRCA’s top 10,  which includes both new and seasoned authors, and decide for yourself which is the best of 2014. (You’ll get YOUR chance to vote this fall!)

Visit our Resources page to access discussion materials, author interviews and MRCA marketing resources for libraries and bookstores.

Read About Our Past Winners:

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (2014)

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash (2013)

About the Award:

The Maine Readers’ Choice Award, officially established in 2013 by the Maine State Library and the Maine Library Association, recognizes the best in adult fiction published in the United States the previous year. The aim of this award is to increase awareness and reading of literary fiction. The Maine Readers’ Choice Award honors books that exhibit exceptional writing and a compelling story that encourages reading and conversation among individuals and in Maine’s communities.

To be considered for the Maine Readers’ Choice Award, books must be:

  • Fiction
  • Published in the United States the previous year
  • Well written
  • Compelling story – you want to continue reading
  • Appealing to a wide audience

Revised editions, updates of previously published works, series or trilogies are not eligible.

Recommendations for consideration for this award will come from the library and booksellers’ communities across the state of Maine throughout the year. All genres are accepted as long as they meet the above requirements.

The Maine Readers’ Choice Award committee will focus on the list of submitted titles, narrowing the list to ten titles that will be read by the committee. The committee will select three to five titles to advance on to libraries and bookstores for a reader’s choice vote in September. Maine readers can vote online at the award’s website and at public libraries and bookstores throughout the state. The winner will be announced in October.

The author and publisher of the finalists will be notified. The winning author will be notified by letter and will receive the Maine Readers’ Choice Award plaque. There is no financial gift with this award. Media outlets will be notified as well.




  1. Becky Ames - April 9, 2013

    I am thrilled that Maine now has its own award for literary fiction! I will be puttin this link onto our library website.

  2. Ann Siekman - April 12, 2013

    Love this idea and look forward to following the entries over the next few months.

  3. Gloria Hutchinson - May 11, 2013

    What a terrific, attractive, engaging site! Thanks for making it available to us. And let’s keep it going.

  4. Ben Blackmon - May 21, 2013

    I can’t wait to to cast my vote! This is a great list of books.

  5. Martha f. Barkley - October 16, 2014

    I voted early in the summer for Transatlantic by Colum McCann…tonight our Charleston, sc book group will discuss his fine historic fiction. I tried my best to read Goldfinch, but had to skip the middle Las Vegas mess…still wish I had learned more about the painting after reading the book for an entire week.

Leave a reply